Skip to content

Carolina Covenant

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Summer Orientation for Covenant Scholars

You’re invited to a special session during UNC’s New Student Orientation!

In addition to the regular New Student Orientation programs, we ask that you attend the Carolina Covenant info session. It takes place during your regular orientation visit, and it should answer any questions you and your family might have about the Carolina Covenant.

How Much? It’s on us! The Covenant will cover the cost of UNC’s orientation for you and one family member or guest. See below for details.

Where? The Student Union. Check your program when you arrive for the room number of the Covenant orientation session.

When? TBD. Check back soon!

Orientation Dates for First-Year Covenant Scholars

Session 2: Monday, June 5 – Tuesday, June 6
Session 3: Wednesday, June 7 – Thursday, June 8
Session 4: Monday, June 12 – Tuesday, June 13
Session 5: Wednesday, June 14 – Thursday, June 15
Session 6: Monday, June 19 – Tuesday, June 20
Session 7: Wednesday, June 21 – Thursday, June 22 (Summer Bridge/Athletics)
Session 8: Monday, June 26 – Tuesday, June 27 (Chancellor’s Science Scholars)
Session 9: Wednesday, June 28 – Thursday, June 29 (Honors)
Session 10: Monday, July 10 – Tuesday, July 11
Session 11: Wednesday, July 12 – Thursday, July 13
Session 12: Monday, July 17 – Tuesday, July 18
Session 13: Wednesday, July 19 – Thursday, July 20
Session 16: Tuesday, July 25 – Wednesday, July 26
Session 18: Wednesday, August 16 – Thursday, August 17 (Int’l, out-of-state, and hidden FY session)

Orientation Dates for Transfer Covenant Scholars

Session 1: Friday, June 2
Session 14: Saturday, July 22
Session 15: Monday, July 24
Session 17: Tuesday, August 15

Orientation Fees
The Covenant will cover orientation fees and orientation housing fees for you and one family member or guest.  

Visit connectcarolina.unc.edu, open More Student Links, and click on New Student Orientation to sign up for a session.  The Carolina Covenant credit will automatically be applied, and any remaining balance (if you choose to bring additional guests) will need to be covered by you.

Please contact the Office of New Student and Family Programs at 919-962-8304 if:

** Please note that on-campus housing for one parent/family member is not available for the August sessions. If you attend an August session, you will need to make arrangements for off-campus housing your family or guests. Many local hotels offer special rates for orientation.  If you are living on-campus or at Granville Towers, you may move into your housing space beginning Tuesday, August 15th at 9:00 a.m.