Skip to content

Carolina Covenant

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Summer Orientation for Covenant Scholars

You’re invited to a special session during UNC’s New Student Orientation!

In addition to the regular New Student Orientation programs, we ask that you attend the Carolina Covenant info session. It takes place during your regular orientation visit, and it should answer any questions you and your family might have about the Carolina Covenant.

How Much? It’s on us! The Covenant will cover the cost of UNC’s orientation for you and one family member or guest. See below for details.

Where? The Student Union. Check your program when you arrive for the room number of the Covenant orientation session.

What time? TBD. Check back soon!

Orientation Dates for First-Year Covenant Scholars

Session 2: Monday, June 4 – Tuesday, June 5
Session 3: Wednesday, June 6 – Thursday, June 7
Session 4: Monday, June 11 – Tuesday, June 12
Session 5: Wednesday, June 13 – Thursday, June 14
Session 6: Monday, June 18 – Tuesday, June 19
Session 7: Wednesday, June 20 – Thursday, June 21 (Summer Bridge/Athletics)
Session 8: Monday, June 25 – Tuesday, June 26 (Chancellor’s Science Scholars)
Session 9: Wednesday, June 27 – Thursday, June 28 (Honors)
Session 10: Monday, July 9 – Tuesday, July 10
Session 11: Wednesday, July 11 – Thursday, July 12
Session 12: Monday, July 16 – Tuesday, July 17
Session 13: Wednesday, July 18 – Thursday, July 19
Session 16: Monday, July 23 – Tuesday, July 24
Session 18: Wednesday, August 15 – Thursday, August 16

Orientation Dates for Transfer Covenant Scholars

Session 1: Friday, June 1
Session 12: Saturday, July 14
Session 16: Tuesday, August 14

Orientation Fees
The Covenant will cover orientation fees and orientation housing fees for you and one family member or guest.  

Visit connectcarolina.unc.edu, open More Student Links, and click on New Student Orientation to sign up for a session.  The Carolina Covenant credit will automatically be applied, and any remaining balance (if you choose to bring additional guests) will need to be covered by you.

Please contact the Office of New Student and Family Programs at 919-962-8304 if:

** Please note that on-campus housing for one parent/family member is not available for the August sessions. If you attend an August session, you will need to make arrangements for off-campus housing your family or guests. Many local hotels offer special rates for orientation.  If you are living on-campus or at Granville Towers, you may move into your housing space beginning Tuesday, August 15th at 9:00 a.m.